In December of 1875 and again in December of 1883 Samuel Rhodes bought large farms in South Williamstown. South Williamstown at this time boasted a 90-room hotel, a post office, several lumber mills, a hat factory, a chair factory, a large chicken industry and many other buildings and businesses that have been mostly forgotten. Samuel and his family provided much of the food and dairy that the local businesses and people needed throughout the year. Samuels son, Bert Rhodes, owned Berkshire County’s first steam powered tractor and attended the Little Red school house.  His grandson Linwood, also attended the school as did his great granddaughter Gail Rhodes and two great-great grandsons, who went to pre-school there in the 1980’s. The Little Red School house is a new museum located near the intersection of routes 7 and 43.

Samuel’s two great-great grandsons, Chris and Peter Kapiloff along with Steven Nielsen purchased the course in December of 2023 as equal owners. Each of them has demonstrated solid business skills and a thoughtful process to community building as a key component to their success. 

Waubeeka is not just another business, but rather a place that can provide a unique and needed experience in the Northern Berkshire community.


137 New Ashford Road

Williamstown, MA 01267


Pro Shop


General & Events


Rhodes Tavern